Maple Street Biscuit Company

Maple Street Biscuit Company

Maple Street Biscuit Company

My wife and I are the type of people who can happily eat breakfast for any ol’ meal of the day.
That’s been engrained in me since childhood. I remember mom and dad cooking eggs, bacon, and biscuits ‘n gravy for dinner every now and then and my sister and I being just pleased as punch about it.
So.. when a restaurant rolls into my neck of the woods that focuses on something inherently breakfast-y, but provides enough playful variations on it to cater to the ever-changing whims of my tastebuds..
You’re speakin’ my language.

And.. enter Maple Street Biscuit Company.

Maple Street Interior

Locals may recognize this as the former Sweet Peppers Deli location, but the transformation is remarkable. It still has the guts of that building obviously, but it’s a much more charming and welcoming atmosphere. The staff is very friendly, with a special nod to managers Zeke and Shanda Arter, who are particularly kind and gracious. The prices are very reasonable (especially considering portion size). The turnaround time for an order is surprisingly fast (it ’bout made my head spin on my first visit: I literally was halfway between the register and the drink station when my order was called). AND they call your order by your favorite band name, which is both fun to play with (I’ve used something different every visit) and interesting to listen to (is it just me, or does a person’s taste in music say a lot about them?).

The Five and Dime

Just look at ’em! Putting all those elements from those breakfast-for-dinner occasions together on a single dish!

The thing I especially love about this is that it’s something simple. Chicken ‘n biscuits. Simple. BUT.. it’s one thing presented in enough different ways to make it seem like you’re getting something new each time, even after multiple repeat visits. Also, they really seem to focus on the QUALITY of the ingredients, which is always important. If you’re doing something that seems simple (twists or no), do it WELL, right? RIGHT. The back side of their menus, for instance, has a list titled, “Why you should feel good about eating here,” which focuses on things like all-natural hormone-free chicken, house-made biscuits, jellies, jams, and sauces, real maple syrup, and local roast coffees. I’ll admit the coffee was a selling point for me. I detest frou-frou coffee, but I love coffee. Just plain coffee. This place has some tasty coffee. The maple coffee is particularly worth noting. It’s a little sweet for my tastes personally, so I like to mix it with their dark roast, but it has a great maple flavor.

The Sticky Maple

In its first week of business (doors opened 9/4/14), I have made three visits (hey, I’m nothing if not thorough). Thus far, The Five and Dime (that gorgeous mess pictured above, with chicken, bacon, and cheddar, topped with a fried egg and slathered in sausage gravy), the simple (but no less tasty) crowd-pleaser, The Sticky Maple (chicken, bacon, and delicious maple syrup), and The Squawking Goat (chicken, fried goat cheese medallion, and pepper jelly) are fast favorites. The fried green tomatoes are definitely noteworthy too. I have never had some that were sliced so thick. It made them seem much more substantial, like a steak or something. They were huge and four came with the order, for just $3. Also, the dessert-type offerings are nothing to scoff at. The Iced Cinnamon Pecan biscuits satisfy my cinnamon roll cravings (honestly makes me a think a bit of Hardee’s cinnamon raisin biscuits, provided those were more delicious than they are). The pecan pie was great (my wife is not a fan of pecan pie, but loved theirs). It doesn’t have that cloying sweetness that pecan pie usually has. It goes back to that whole simple but tasty concept. It’s just good. Probably my favorite dessert though was the salted chocolate chip cookie. I’m a sucker for textures. This cookie gets me. Crunchy on the outside. Soft and almost doughy on the inside, with a sprinkle of coarse salt atop to cut the sweetness and add a little more depth. That with a mug of the aforementioned coffee..

MMMMMMmmmmmm.

I’ve found a new favorite spot for breakfast food, and I want more.
Now.
Go see for yourself what I mean.

Maple Street Biscuit Company on Urbanspoon

2 thoughts on “Maple Street Biscuit Company

Leave a Reply

